Current Winners – 2021 Awards

December 12, 2021

Best Picture  – Drive My Car

Best Actor – Hidetoshi Nishijima, Drive My Car

Best Actress – Alana Haim, Licorice Pizza

Best Supporting Actor – Troy Kotsur, CODA

Best Supporting Actress – Jessie Buckley, The Lost Daughter

Best Director -Ryūsuke Hamaguchi, Drive My Car

Best Screenplay – Ryūsuke Hamaguchi & Takamasa Oe, Drive My Car

Best Cinematography – Ari Wegner, The Power of the Dog

Best Documentary – Summer of Soul (or… When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised)

Best English Language Film  – The Power of the Dog*

Best Animated Film – Flee

Best Film Editing (awarded in memory of Karen Schmeer) – Affonso Gonçalves & Adam Kurnitz, The Velvet Underground

Best New Filmmaker (awarded in memory of David Brudnoy) – Maggie Gyllenhaal, The Lost Daughter

Best Ensemble Cast – Licorice Pizza

Best Original Score – Jonny Greenwood, Spencer

BSFC 2021 Awards for Repertory Cinema & Commendations

* Per Boston Society of Film Critics By-Laws, if the winner for Best Picture is a Non-English Language film, then the final vote is for Best English Language Film. The last instance of this was in 1985, where Akira Kurosawa’s Ran won Best Picture, and Best English Language Film was awarded to John Huston’s Prizzi’s Honor.